BSM State Lead Team members shape leadership, missional culture

by Teresa Young on January 19, 2024 in News

When Stephen Galarza got involved in Baptist Student Ministry(BSM) as a student at the University of Texas-Pan American (now UT Rio Grande Valley), his life took a dramatically different direction.

“I fell in love with the ministry there. I was a pre-med bio major and God really transformed my life,” he recalls. “I was doing shadowing hours at the hospital and ministry on campus, and I realized my passion for ministry was so much more life-giving.”

After his first mission trip, the call to serve was even more solidified, and Stephen jumped into BSM with both feet. He became part of the BSM State Lead Team and was co-president, then served the next year as a student leader on the team. He and his wife continued their education at Truett Seminary, then he followed the Lord’s leading to become BSM director at Texas A&M Corpus Christi and Del Mar College, where he has served for four years.

“It drives my passion to see how my life was transformed by this ministry and wanting to see that happen in other students,” says Stephen. “I love to see how God is working around the world.”

Collegiate ministry leadership pipeline

These full-circle stories are part of what Ginger Bowman says are the best benefit of the BSM State Lead Team (SLT) program, which provides additional opportunities for students to get leadership training, discipleship and peer mentorship to take their service to the next level.

“We have found that it’s really been a key part of shaping our leadership culture. Every year the things we focus on in our Summit time and in the books we read together are focused on our core values,” says Ginger, the church and campus consultant in the Center for Collegiate Ministry at Texas Baptists.

“One of the things we’ve found as we’ve reinforced those values as an organization is that they take those things back to their campus and share with friends. A number of these become campus missionaries, serving one to two years, and from that, we have some who will become BSM staff members. It’s become part of our leadership pipeline, so to speak.”

This year’s State Lead Team has 110 members representing 46 campuses across Texas. BSM directors or church college ministers may nominate up to four students, and then the team is announced in November. The group is divided into cohorts of around a dozen each that begin to meet before Christmas, and that provides an opportunity to share ideas about ministry from across different campuses.

The Lead Team then participates in a Summit event in January to learn about various ministry options, and they plan the BSM Abide Prayer Retreat that will be held January 26-27 for around 500 students from around the state. Their service runs through the end of the spring semester, and they also have opportunities to interact with other areas of the Texas Baptists family for internship possibilities. Two SLT students are chosen to serve as co-presidents, who then attend the BSM Committee meetings during the BGCT Executive Board meetings for a year.

Every Christ-follower a missionary

Ginger said the entire year can be transformational for students in terms of shaping their call to service, just like Stephen experienced.

“We hope they at least catch the vision that every follower of Christ is a missionary, no matter where they are. We want to impart life skills they can take and implement anywhere they go, whether in a church or at their workplace,” she said. “We want them to have practical skills that translate to the campus but also beyond that.”

The BSM State Lead Team for 2023-24 includes the following, listed by university:

Angelina College: Becca Langley; Angelo State University: Maggie Brockman, Cooper Naredo, Annette Richardson, Kathryn Rose; Baptist University of the Americas: Angie Pila; Baylor University: Kaitlyn Kingsley, David Washington; Blinn College: Nathalia Anaya, Liseth Marichalar, Cesar Martinez; Cedar Valley College: Bethany Mabie; Dallas Baptist University: Riley Cooper, Paige Hicks, Hunter Simmons; East Texas Baptist University: Levi Baird, Henry Hunter; Houston Christian University: Brooke Bigford, Lily Clardy, Jachin Vaughan; Howard Payne University: Daniel Archer, Cami Hering; Kilgore College: Lexi Allums; Lamar University: Reuben Durham, Stephen Matherbe; Lone Star College: Jeremy Heustis; Midwestern State University: P.J. Bailey, Macie Frederick, Arianna Gallegos, Nathan Groce; Sam Houston State University: Noel Kaup, Kylie Martin, Bear Mims, Trey Stevenson; Schreiner University: Andrea Asare, Cailin Powell; South Plains College: Reese Small; Stephen F. Austin University: Ashley Davenport, Hunter VanDover; Sul Ross State University: Cesar Garza, Brynn McMillin; Tarleton State University: Brooke Barrett, Dylan Dick, Caleb Olmstead, Marissa Wolfe; TCU: Mandy Pretico; Texas A&M: Bryan Cantu, Sean Gambrell, Megan Neal, Shelby Ray; Texas A&M Commerce: Teni Aborisade, Jaidan Bates, Sam Roberts; Texas A&M Corpus Christi: Jocelyn Massey; Texas A&M International: America Gonzalez, Jason Torres, Marco Zapata; Texas A&M Kingsville: Oscar Gonzalez, Madi Muscolino, Thomas Trevino; Texas A&M San Antonio: Monique Camacho, Carlos Figueroa, Mikayla Theis; Texas Southern University: Ke’mora Diggs; Texas State University: Julian Aleman, Lane Blakley, Camille Dworaczyk; Texas Tech University: Erin Dembo, Cash Kanally, Payton Preston, Madi Sund; Texas Wesleyan: Sarays Flores; Texas Woman’s University: Diana Lazo; Tyler Junior College: Timon Ovard; University of Houston: Nathan Dasgupta, Estella Gomez, Joshua Hoag; University of North Texas: Lisa Chenault, Craig Davis; University of Texas at Arlington: Daniella Debenport, Joshua Ellis, Victoria Sampaio, Tobey Stebbins; University of Texas at Austin: Caeleb Bridgins, Joanna Enyioke, Corinn Oliver; University of Texas at Dallas: Brinley Crawley, Ben Stidham, Kaitlyn Thomas; University of Texas at El Paso: Abril Castrejon, Estrella Lara, Sam Salas; University of Texas Rio Grande Valley: Randy Ayala, Joana Campos, Ashleynayely Garcia, Laisha Jimenez, Moses Pena, Juan Rivera, Ebony Salinas, Karyme Salinas; University of Texas at San Antonio: Rebekah Guajardo, Ilsy Perez; University of Texas at Tyler: Kennie Adams, Joseph Weippert; Wayland Baptist University: Michael Davis, Jazmin Ortega, Raylee Parker; West Texas A&M University: Cara Mann.

Visit to learn more about Baptist Student Ministry and how you can get involved.

Texas Baptists is a movement of God’s people to share Christ and show love by strengthening churches and ministers, engaging culture and connecting the nations to Jesus.

The ministry of the convention is made possible by giving through the Texas Baptists Cooperative Program, Mary Hill Davis Offering® for Texas Missions, Texas Baptists Worldwide and Texas Baptist Missions Foundation. Thank you for your faithful and generous support.

Subscribe to receive stories like this one directly to your inbox.

We are more together.

Read more articles in: News, Collegiate Ministry, Baptist Student Ministry