New convention officers look forward to unity, sharing Christ

by Kalie Lowrie on July 30, 2018 in News

ARLINGTON–Michael Evans, pastor of Bethlehem Baptist Church in Mansfield, was elected president of Texas Baptists at the 2018 Family Gathering Monday in Arlington. Evans was nominated by Dennis Wiles, pastor of First Baptist Church of Arlington.

“This year will be all about unity and sharing the Gospel,” said Evans. “We do that from our different platforms, different places and different faces, but the bottom line is Jesus. He binds us together.”

Wiles described Evans as a devoted husband, wonderful father, gifted pastor, and trusted friend who has led Bethlehem Baptist Church for 27 years with skill and integrity. “He’s a Bible-believing, Christ-loving, devil-hating, church-supporting, missionally-invested, preaching dude, and an insightful theologian, big picture thinking leader who is not allergic to taking risks,” Wiles said.

Jason Burden, pastor of First Baptist Church in Nederland, was elected as First Vice President. Joanna Jespersen, minister to children and families at Shiloh Terrace Baptist Church in Dallas, nominated Burden for the position.

“Jason has pastored various churches from small to large and led each one with distinction. He is not only a great pastor, but a friend to pastors. He’s an encourager to all and a true servant leader,” she said.

Messengers also elected Jason Atchley, pastor of Bacon Heights Baptist Church in Lubbock, to serve as the second vice president. Atchley was nominated by Daniel “Tiny” Dominguez, pastor of Community Heights Church in Lubbock. “He’s been a blessing to us in Lubbock as a true partner in ministry,” Dominguez said. “He is intentional to reach our zip code and reach the world.”

All officers ran unopposed and were unanimously elected by the 837 registered messengers in attendance.

Texas Baptists is a movement of God’s people to share Christ and show love by strengthening churches and ministers, engaging culture and connecting the nations to Jesus.

The ministry of the convention is made possible by giving through the Texas Baptists Cooperative Program, Mary Hill Davis Offering® for Texas Missions, Texas Baptists Worldwide and Texas Baptist Missions Foundation. Thank you for your faithful and generous support.

Subscribe to receive stories like this one directly to your inbox.

We are more together.

Read more articles in: News, Annual Meeting